My Beautiful Bride

23rd May 2013 is one of the landmark day in my life, the day I got married to the most beautiful bride, Shruti Anand Bagalwadi. I always dreamt of marrying the prettiest bride, as most men would dream. I wanted everything to be perfect on this day. Right from the day we both got engaged, the preparation for this special day had been going on. But on the day when my dream was turning into a reality, I just could not believe my own eyes.

I would like to continue this post by going a little back in time.

Shruti and I got engaged on 6th Jan 2013, just 4 days after we met for the first time. All I remember is saying yes after our first meet and since then there has been no looking back. It’s been 8 months since I’ve known Shruti and almost 3 months since our marriage, but it feels like just yesterday that I met her for the first time.

When I think about the day we got engaged, everything seemed magical. I was getting engaged to this lady in front of me, who was everything and more than what I had asked for. She was beautiful, pretty, caring, simple, adaptable, matured and much more. Unfortunately, I was leaving to Germany the very next day. So I just wanted to spend rest of my time with her, talking to her, getting to know her, just being with her. We decided to meet in a coffee shop later in the evening. It was still a weird feeling, the thought of being engaged was not just sinking in 😀 I reached there a bit early and was waiting for her. When she arrived I was dumbstruck, didn’t know what to talk about. She got me beautiful gift, a watch, with a small note and I quote “I hope this time between us shall pass soon!!!”. Reading that made me very happy and sad at the same time. Happy because now there was a person in my life who would care for me more than a friend and liked me for who I’m, and sad because I was flying so far leaving this wonderful person behind. After our meeting we went together to one my close friend’s wedding and there she met all my other ‘chuddy-buddies’. From there I dropped her home, during which we had a nice long conversation. It was very hard to leave her knowing that I’ll not be seeing her personally for next 5 months. Somehow with a simple smile we were able to say it all.

The next day at the airport, after my parents saw me off, I called her to tell her that its very hard leaving her behind. She just said one simple thing… “Think about it this way, the next time you will be at the airport, you will not be alone, I’ll be with you” and I held on to that thought till I saw her next 🙂

After landing in Germany, I got busy with my work and things went on as usual. Thanks to Skype, we were able to talk and see each other and got to know each other better day by day. The time was actually running and the big day was getting closer. I was planning on surprising her by landing in Bangalore 2 days in advance. I wanted formally propose to her by going down on one knee, at her favorite spot – her terrace, lit up with candles, roses spread on the floor, in front of her family. And it did happened exactly the way I had planned it. The look on her face on that day was simply adorable and was worth all the wait 🙂

And then 6 days later the day had finally arrived. We had a small ceremony on the day previous of our wedding at the convention hall. My family and I, along with all the relatives left for the convention hall at around 4 pm. I was pretty excited about my wedding and was totally looking forward to the changes it would bring along. At the same time I was quite nervous about the whole marriage thing. It is a big deal going from a Bachelor to a Husband. As we reached the convention hall, we were welcomed by my in-laws with a garland and a tilak on our forehead.

Welcoming from Father-in-law
Welcoming from Father-in-law

At this moment I thought Shruti would come running to greet me… just kidding ;). But on a serious note, I did expect to see her. After all the welcoming formalities, we were invited to have snacks and get ready for the rituals. Instead, I stood there wondering if I could get a glance of my fiancé. One of my sisters saw me standing near the dias and asked me to join her for snacks. I told her that Shruti would be walking across the stage now and I would like to get a glimpse her before eating. She got excited and replied and I quote “Then we will wait together, you should never miss a chance like this.” We both sat on the chair, waiting, hoping that we get a look at MY beautiful bride (lets keep this part between us ;)…). Well, the effort was well rewarded when my eyes caught sight of Shruti in her orange saree looking absolutely stunning. That was when I first thought to myself… “wow… I’m marrying the most beautiful bride :)”.

After we were done with snacks, there was still time for the ceremonies to begin and I was looking for an opportunity to see and talk to Shruti. To get to her I had to first bribe two of her bridesmaids (my sister-in-laws a.k.a Saalis), then convince her parents that I would be quick and would not disturb her :D. After all that I got 5 minutes to sit with her and have a casual chat. Quite a paradoxical situation considering I was marrying her.

Post the ceremonies, it was dinner time and we (Shruti and I) were planning to go together for dinner. She was sitting there surrounded by a few of her relatives, waiting for me to join her for dinner. I went to her and she was still not in the mood to get up and go for dinner. So I asked her if I should carry her to the dinning hall. At first she nodded her head in agreement and when I went close to her she shied away. And then as we were about to get down the stairs, we stopped again waiting for Shruti’s friends. Somehow I felt she wanted me to ask her again to carry her. So, I asked if I may carry her in my arms, down to the dinning hall. This time, along with saying yes, jokingly, she made the mistake of turning around making it easy to lift her. I don’t know what I was thinking then and to her surprise I literally swept her off her feet, taking her in my arms and walking all the way down to the dinning table.

In my arms!!
In my arms!!

All the people around were as shocked, as was Shruti, and they started clapping and whistling and the people eating dinner started wondering what was happening. It was one of those moments that both of us would cherish for life 🙂 We ended the day with a nice long chat after our dinner and looking forward to our big day!

The big day was here… it was 23rd May 2013… the wedding day… I was getting married to this most beautiful bride I’ve known. By the time ceremonies were over and before realizing what was actually happening, the day had come to an end and we were married!

Gatti Mela (Tying of Mangalsutra to the Bride)
Gatti Mela (Tying of Mangalsutra to the Bride)

I started this post after 3 months of our wedding and am finishing it after 5 months of our wedding. I must admit that during this time my love for my wife has only grown exponentially. This post is for you Shruti, my beautiful bride.

I love you!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.